Hearing problem

Home Forums Ask Ted Hearing problem

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    hansgitaar
    Participant

Hello everyone, hello Ted,

Due to a ripped eardrum (and subsequent operations) I have tinnitus and hearing loss in the left ear. I am a classical guitarist and love to listen to my stereo. A bit of a problem is posed by the enormous dynamic range in classical music. Could a compressor (in the right place in the audiochain) help me out? When an orchestra is playing pianissimo, my tinnitus is louder than the music. If I turn up the volume, the forte parts then get asocially loud. Could a compressor help?

Thank you for your efforts.

Ted Fletcher
    Keymaster

Sorry to read about your hearing problem……
    The short answer is yes; it is certain that using a compressor will make it possible to hear quieter sections of music. The principle is a good one, the real question is how to produce a compressor with the best characteristics so that it works well enough without destroying the musicality of the audio.
    Over the years I have experimented with many types of compressor and have had systems that would probably do the trick, but I must think further on this…….. I’m going to consider it for a few days and will come back to you.

Ted Fletcher
    Keymaster

As it happens I do have a number of compressors in stock so was able to do some experiments today……
    At first I tried putting some classical music through the limiter circuits of my new 828 Mk3 mixer. This was not a success, the limiters do the job of preventing overloads perfectly, but when pushed, add a degree of harshness without accenting the quiet sections sufficiently.
    I also tried my P38EX mastering compressor, but I think this one is generally too well behaved; it refuses to carry out the necessary increase on quiet passages.