VC1 version 2.01

Home Forums Ask Ted VC1 version 2.01

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    stringmen
    Participant

Hi Ted,

Just found this forum- what a great resource for meek fans like me. I have two qestions if you dont mind.

I have a vc1 v 2.01 which i love very much (and a C2 which is also brilliant). I know this is going back a fair bit but I would be very greatful if you could tell me if the balanced line output (not the transformer balanced D.I) on this VC1 can tolerate its cold (pin 3) being shorted to ground (pin 1) ?. Im new to electronics so what I mean to ask is – is it safe for the vc1s balanced line output to go to an unbalanced input. I would like to take the balanced line output from my VC1 to the input of an unbalanced fmr rnc, but i would be gutted if i damaged my VC1. Would it be safe to just use unbalanced ts jacks for this ? Just out of interest is the VC1 servo balanced or electronically, please ?

My other question is im wondering if the input transformer on my VC1 v2.01 is the same as the one on ‘the brick’ ?

Ted, this VC1 is a work of art, i absolutely love what it does on rock vocals, snare, kick, toms etc…thats why i got the little C2 which stays on my parallel drum bus. It it really transparent on vocals whilst pushing them right forward and adding excitement. I always wanted an SC2 but to be honest im totally happy with how the little C2 does on drums.

Your new gear looks very interesting, and nice looking 😆 .

All the best

Peter.

Ted Fletcher
    Keymaster

There’s a nice simple answer to this one…. If it’s my design, then any balanced output can be treated as unbalanced if you like.
    It’s a good rule to try to keep everything balanced , but if you have unbalanced ins or outs on other gear, then it will all work fine.